EMZ’s ESG policy

A long-term partner

Vision

EMZ Partners (“EMZ”) has been active in the French unlisted investment market since 1999 and has gradually carved out a unique position among the various market players by recognising the key role that entrepreneurs and management teams play in value creation.

EMZ Engagement

By entering into transactions that enable these officers, executives and family or founding shareholders to become or remain the main shareholders in their companies, EMZ contributes to the creation of stable long-lasting shareholder structures that keep the company’s leading stakeholders involved over the long term.
This enduring and balanced partnership with management teams, and the quality of governance within the portfolio companies, are at the core of EMZ’s ESG policy.

EMZ Engagement
In action

Integration of ESG principles into the company’s management and investment policy

At the same time, EMZ has introduced a number of initiatives in recent years that confirm the importance of ESG principles in our investment policy and management.

EMZ Engagement

As a
management company

EMZ has set up a dedicated ESG team that includes the Chief Executive Officer, the Company Secretary and the ESG Director.

It works closely with the investment teams and the finance and risk teams, from the pre-investment phase to the disposal phase, and is supported, depending on specific needs, by external service providers chosen for the quality of their expertise.

EMZ places great emphasis on raising team members’ awareness and providing them with training on ESG issues.

  • Internally: compliance with the Code of Conduct, waste recycling, prioritising service providers who are committed to ESG issues, and supporting sponsorship initiatives of the portfolio companies that address social and cultural issues through the Donations and Sponsorship Committee created in 2018
  • In their role as investors, in order to ensure that ESG issues are taken into account in investment decisions (based on a dual risk and opportunity approach) and the monitoring of portfolio companies
EMZ Engagement

As an
investor

EMZ takes ESG criteria into account throughout the investment cycle and aims to actively raise portfolio company officers’ awareness of sustainability issues, through an ongoing consultation and consensus process.

Lastly, EMZ communicates with investors on the ESG practices and performance of portfolio companies, by systematically covering these issues in annual reports.

Our objectives
EMZ’s ESG policy meets several objectives:
  • Fully integrating environmental and social criteria into its investment policy and supporting entrepreneurs and management teams in implementing their CSR approach
  • Integrating risk factors associated with non-financial criteria and being in a position to identify their potential impact on value creation 
  • Identifying ESG opportunities in terms of value creation  
  • Ensuring that its investment policy and remuneration policy do not negatively impact the sustainability of the portfolio
  • Reporting on our ESG commitments to EMZ’s investors and complying with our regulatory obligations
  • Contributing to a continuous improvement process that takes into account the characteristics of the unlisted market and the size of the companies in which EMZ invests, and the implications thereof in terms of the availability of ESG data
EMZ Company
ESG

Our commitment to an investment policy that incorporates environmental, social and governance issues can be seen in EMZ’s adoption of the Principles of Responsible Investment (PRI), by which we commit to meeting the sustainable and responsible investment criteria of government institutions and inter-governmental organisations.

EMZ Company
France

ESG

Partenaire de long terme

Vision

Présent depuis 1999 sur le marché français de l’investissement non coté, EMZ Partners a graduellement construit un positionnement unique parmi les différents acteurs du marché en reconnaissant les entrepreneurs et les équipes dirigeantes comme les acteurs essentiels de la création de valeur.

EMZ Engagement

En s’engageant dans des opérations qui permettent à ces dirigeants, cadres, actionnaires familiaux ou fondateurs, de devenir ou de rester les actionnaires de référence de leur entreprise, EMZ participe en effet à la création de structures d’actionnariat stables et durables, associant les acteurs de l’entreprise sur le long terme. Ce partenariat durable et équilibré avec les équipes dirigeantes, et la qualité de la gouvernance au sein des participations, constituent le cœur de la politique ESG d’EMZ.

EMZ Engagement
En action

Intégration de l’ESG dans la gestion et la politique d’investissement de la société

EMZ a pris un certain nombre d’initiatives au cours des dernières années pour affirmer la place de l’ESG dans sa politique d’investissement et dans la gestion de la société.

EMZ Engagement

En tant que
société de gestion

EMZ a mis en place une équipe ESG dédiée, comprenant le Directeur Général, le Secrétaire Général et la Responsable ESG.

Elle travaille en relation étroite avec les équipes d’investissement et les équipes en charge des finances et des risques de la phase de pré-investissement à la phase de cession et est renforcée, en fonction des besoins spécifiques, par le recours à des prestataires extérieurs choisis pour la qualité de leur expertise.

EMZ apporte une grande attention a la sensibilisation et formation des membres de l’equipe uax enjeux ESG

  • En interne : respect du Code de déontologie, recyclage des déchets, recours privilégié aux prestataires engagés en matière d’ESG, soutien de projets de mécénat portés par des entreprises en portefeuille et ayant trait aux thématiques sociétales et culturelles, formalisé par la création du Comité Dons et Mécénat en 2018)
  • Dans leur rôle d’investisseur, afin de s’assurer que les enjeux ESG sont pris en compte dans les décisions d’investissement (selon une double approche risques et opportunités) et le suivi des participations
EMZ Engagement

En tant qu’
investisseur

EMZ prend en compte les critères ESG tout au long du cycle d’investissement, et vise une sensibilisation active des dirigeants des participations aux enjeux de durabilité, en privilégiant toujours la concertation et le consensus.

EMZ communique enfin auprès des investisseurs sur les pratiques et les performances ESG des participations en les intégrant de façon systématique dans les rapports annuels.

Nos objectifs
La politique ESG d’EMZ répond à plusieurs objectifs
  • Intégrer pleinement les critères environnementaux ou sociaux dans sa politique d’investissement et agir en soutien des entrepreneurs et équipes dirigeantes dans la mise en œuvre de leur démarche RSE
  • Intégrer les facteurs de risque liés aux critères extra-financiers et être à même d’identifier leur impact potentiel sur la création de valeur.
  • Identifier les opportunités ESG en termes de création de valeur
  • S’assurer que notre politique d’investissement, de même que notre politique de rémunération, n’ont pas d’incidence négative sur la durabilité de notre portefeuille
  • Rendre compte de nos engagements ESG auprès des investisseurs d’EMZ et répondre à nos obligations réglementaires
  • Être dans une démarche d’amélioration continue, en prenant en compte les caractéristiques du marché du non coté et la taille des entreprises dans lesquels EMZ investit, et leurs implications en en termes de disponibilité des données ESG.
EMZ Company
Engagement ESG

Nos engagements en faveur d’une politique d’investissement intégrant les questions environnementales, sociales et de gouvernance se matérialisent à travers l’adhésion d’EMZ aux Principes de l’Investissement Responsable (PRI), par lesquels nous nous engageons à respecter les critères d’investissement durables et responsables portés par les institutions gouvernementales et organisations inter-gouvernementales.

EMZ Company
United States